Fri. Jul 31st, 2020

Nepal Sports

All About sports

Valencia defeated Barcelona; wins Copa del Rey

2 min read

VALENCIA, SPAIN - FEBRUARY 28: Valencia players celebrate at full time after the Copa del Rey Semi Final match second leg between Valencia and Real Betis at Estadio Mestalla on February 28, 2019 in Valencia, Spain. (Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images)

Valencia have won the Copa del Rey for the first time since 2007-08 after beating Barcelona 2-1 to increase the heat on Ernesto Valverde.

Barcelona were denied an unprecedented fifth successive Copa del Rey crown as they lost 2-1 to Valencia in Saturday’s final, heaping the pressure on under-fire coach Ernesto Valverde.

Having had a realistic chance at a treble just a few weeks ago, Barca finish the season with only the league title to show for their efforts, a situation likely to increase Valverde’s unpopularity among supporters.

Barca were way off their best in the first half at the Benito Villamarin and deservedly found themselves trailing 2-0 at the break, as Kevin Gameiro and Rodrigo Moreno clinically punished the defending champions.

Valverde’s men pushed forward desperately after the break and Lionel Messi pulled one back shortly after being denied by the post, but their dominance proved futile as Valencia held on to win the Copa for the first time since 2008.View image on Twitter

– Valencia are the second team to win the Copa del Rey title in the same year they celebrate their 100th anniversary, after Espanyol in 2000.
– Lionel Messi has become the first player in Copa del Rey history to score in six different finals (seven goals).
– Valencia have won their eighth Copa del Rey title, the first one since 2008, under Ronald Koeman (3-1 against Getafe at Vicente Calderon).
– Barcelona have lost the first one-legged final in which Lionel Messi has scored (16 goals in 13 finals).
– Valencia’s Marcelino has won his first managerial game against Barcelona in all competitions, after 21 matches (W1 D6 L14).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Site Developed by Aadarsha Dhakal.